The 250th Monument
The 250th Anniversary monument was conceptualized and designed by Rev'd Paul Douglas Walfall, Connexional Publishing Officer, and commissioned by the Connexional 250th Anniversary Planning Committee. Architectural drawings were done by Mr. Charles Boyce who attends the Bethel Methodist Church in Bridgetown, Barbados.
At the top of the monument stand four crosses fussed together as one and pointing in the four cardinal points. Together the crosses form a cross-crosslet and symbolizes the missionary mandate of the church to take the gospel to all corners of the earth (or the Caribbean and the Americas). The base of the monument is octagonal, and is a reminder of the eight Districts of the MCCA.
The monument was erected to commemorate the beginnings of Methodist witness on the Gilbert plantation and to celebrate the 250th anniversary of Methodism in the region. On four of the panels of the base an inscription is made in English, Spanish, French and Dutch. The inscription in English reads as follows:
Erected by the Conference of the Methodist Church in the Caribbean and the Americas, to commemorate the beginnings of Methodism in the region,
on this site in the year 1760.
Unveiled on Saturday, May 29, 2010, as part of the celebrations of
the 250th Anniversary of Methodist witness in the Caribbean and the Americas
(1760 - 2010)
The monument stands as a reminder to the Methodist Church of the importance of the Mission of the Church, and as a challenge to the church in its eight Districts to continue the task of spreading Scriptural Holiness throughout the mainland and islands of the region.